Back to School Anxiety (Mine, Not Theirs)

It all begins once more tomorrow. We went through the various outfit options, prepped the lunches and backpacks, and multiple kids got in big trouble before it was over. So all in all, it was a standard school night kind of evening. I already know that I will be terribly sad in the morning when I drop them off, and then I will be even sadder when I come home to the deafening silence of an empty home. Thankfully that pile o’ dishes and crumbs that will greet me upon my return will most definitely be awaiting me will remind me of their close proximity. Part of me is being sacrcastic, but a bigger part of me is genuinely grateful for everything they leave scattered in their collective kid wake.

The good news is that if history is any indicative of future performance (which it is NOT in finance – please see attached disclosures), I may be luxuriating in the quiet after I get past my initial adjustment period. Although my favorite part of the day will always be when we are all together once more, maybe a few minutes of solitude won’t be the worst thing either.

Back to school Monday feels like a pretty crappy week starter at the moment, but I have a stockpile of work spreadsheets and truckloads of laundry that are betting otherwise. I guess we shall see.

Whetheryou are back to school, over school, past school, or just rejoicing in an endless  summer, I send you wishes for a lovely Monday and a beautiful week ahead.

Big hugs to all.  Jo

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shalini
    Aug 27, 2018 @ 06:12:48

    Before I read the post, I am commenting and liking because it is going to be a kickass post

    Reply

  2. shalini
    Aug 27, 2018 @ 06:14:29

    And I was right… Honey don’t worry in a few hours your babies will be back❤️❤️

    Reply

    • Jo Price
      Aug 27, 2018 @ 09:33:20

      If I’m being really honest with myself, I don’t think that their being away is what bothers me. I’m sad because every new year is just another notch in time that is ticking away. I’m that much closer to watching them fly the nest. I really need to get rich fast so I can make this MoJo compound gig a reality. (Not that they would agree to live there once they are old enough to select housing, but I can dream!) ❤️❤️❤️

      Reply

  3. LA
    Aug 27, 2018 @ 07:02:24

    Mine starts her last year of school next week. It’s weird to think this is the beginning of the end…..it’s all good….❤️❤️❤️

    Reply

  4. Jo Price
    Aug 27, 2018 @ 13:27:16

    Well they were but then I blinked and they were a lot less tiny. It’s wild how quickly it goes by.

    Reply

  5. manyofus1980
    Sep 30, 2018 @ 01:48:03

    It sounds like school keeps you all busy! I hope it is still going well and everyones enjoying it. xo

    Reply

Leave a comment